This Is The Time To Show Them Everything

My Hunger Games polishes finally arrived!

Here are the ones I ordered:

From Left to Right: Agro, Fast Track, Luxe and Lush, Dress Me Up, and Hook and Line.

I had the most difficult time deciding which color to try first! I eventually went with Hook and Line because I wanted to compare my experience with those from other bloggers who have reviewed the color. I obviously also wanted to test out Luxe and Lush, as it was one of the colors I was most looking forward to.

Here are the two colors in their bottles:

China Glaze describes Hook and Line as a “Pearlescent light grey,” while All Lacquered Up describes it more as a “muddied, pewter metallic” color. I’ve read a few reviews that complained about this color’s watery consistency and streaky quality when applied to the nails, so I wanted to test it out and see how my experience compared.

Here’s a picture of one coat of Hook and Line:

I can definitely understand the other reviews commenting on it’s watery nature. At first I wasn’t sure there was actually any color to the polish! I could also see some streaks forming, but I gave it the benefit of a doubt and tried another coat.

Two coats ended up being all I needed to achieve opaqueness. Please excuse the messy cuticles /:

I actually really liked the result of Hook and Line when I used two coats. Yes, it was streaky, but I felt like that added to the metallic quality of the color. As this is the color representing District 4 (Fishing), I think it does it’s job of reminding me of a fishing hook. I do like the color by itself, but I feel that it’s more of a wintery color on it’s own.

I then added Luxe and Lush on top, and boy was it fun!

I had a little trouble at first with consistency (as you can probably tell from the difference in thickness on my pinky and ring finger versus the rest). However, once I got the hang of it, I loved the result! China Glaze describes Luxe and Lush as “A high octane flaky overcoat” and that it is! It definitely reminds me of shards of glass, reflecting different colors of light depending on what angle you look at it from.

Here is the finished look:

I tried to get a close-up, please ignore my awkward finger positioning.

One thing that puts me off a bit about this overcoat is what its effect was on Hook and Line. I’ve had two people describe Hook and Line as a clay-like color when I showed them the final result. It definitely looked less streaky with Luxe and Lush on top. I’ve also noticed a bit of cracking in both polishes around the flakes, but I’ve only had this manicure on for about twelve hours.

UPDATE: I tried again to get a picture of the strange cracking in the polish, as well as a picture of the wear on some of my fingers. The longer I wore it (and I only kept the color on for about 2 days) the more cracks there were. 

Over all, I love both colors and the combination of the two. While I was wary of Hook and Line at first, I think the streaky quality it has works to its benefit.

I’ll be posting the other colors later this week! Feel free to share your own experiences with these colors too!

Leave a Reply

