Prim and Proper

It’s taken me a while to continue with the Hunger Games polish swatches, but here’s my next one: Dress Me Up.

I have to admit that I didn’t have very high expectations for this polish. I just bought it because I have an affinity for soft pinks and neutral shades, but I ended up liking it a lot more than I thought I would!

Described by China Glaze as “a stripped down dark rose pink creme,” Dress Me Up definitely reminds me of Prim. Somehow, it’s supposed to represent District 8 (Textiles) but all I can think of when wearing it is of Prim’s sweet, demure demeanor.

This color actually tricked me a couple times, looking a little more beige than pink. I guess I was expecting a more gray toned pink but it kept reminding me a bit of OPI’s San Tan-Tonio. In reality, it is much pinker than in the above picture, though it definitely depended on the light. Sometimes it looked like my nails were the same color as my skin and other times I felt a bit like Barbie it was so pink.

I also had to try it with a coat of Luxe and Lush on top, obviously.

I didn’t really like the combination of the two, as I thought (despite it’s name) that Dress Me Up was a more subtle color and didn’t quite connect with the glitzy look of Luxe and Lush.

In the end, I would say I was very pleasantly surprised by Dress Me Up. It’s subtle enough to wear anywhere or with anything, but still managed to make me feel very pretty!

Leave a Reply

