Del Sol – Color Changing Nail Polish!

“Color-changing Nail Polish by Del Sol is the wonder of the sun at your finger tips! Indoors, the nail polish is one fun color. But outside, Del Sol’s exquisite, color change nail polish turns a dramatically different hue. Some styles feature glitter, too. From indoors to outside, and back to indoors, Del Sol Nail Polish gets attention as it changes.”

Del Sol is a company that sells apparel and accessories that change under UV rays. About a year ago, my boyfriend and I discovered one of their 100 stores and wandered in. I’d been in stores like it before, but I was extremely excited to find out that they had over twenty colors of changing nail polish! Obviously, I wanted to grab as many as I could, but I left the store empty handed that day. A year later (earlier this month), my boyfriend bought three bottles for my mother’s birthday and surprised me with three bottles too!

Now, I know “mood” polish has been around for a while, and I even have an old Forever21 color changing polish stashed somewhere in my room, but I am so impressed with DelSol! I meant to do some swatches last weekend before a week-long trip to San Diego, but never got around to it. During the week, I was super surprised to see that Shannon over at Eyemasq had also discovered this awesome brand! She’d even swatched the color I ended up wearing to San Diego!

For now, I swatched my three DelSol colors: Electrick,  Pretty In Pink, and Ruby Slipper. Sometime before I head back to Boston (sooo….within the next week) I will swatch my mother’s colors too.

Eeeek, what a lot of writing. Okay, here come the actual pictures! (All are with basecoat and three coats of color, no topcoat)

First up: Electrick.

Before Sun

 

 

After Sun

I have to say, I was really sad about the application of Electrick. These pictures are from the second time I tried to swatch it. The first time, it was watery and insanely streaky until the third coat. By the time the third coat dried, it was definitely less streaky, but oh my god the bubbles. I have never had a polish bubble as much as Electrick did. I’m guessing it’s because of how watery the formula is and I probably did too thick of a third coat to try to get rid of the streaks, but after trying to wear it again a week later..meh, still not so happy. It was also the slowest changing of the colors when placed in sunlight. So pretty though ):

Pretty In Pink

Before Sun

 

 

 

 

 

 

After Sun

 

 

 

I absolutely adore Pretty In Pink. I first wore it on my toes, because I could tell it would be sheer. I tend to be a little particular when it comes to visible nail line, but I think I’d make an exception for this one. She’s just so pretty both in and out of the sun! I wonder what it would be like to do a french manicure with this…hmm thoughts for the future.

Ruby Slippers

Before Sun

 

 

 

 

After Sun

 

 

 

 

Ruby Slipper is another one that gave me a moment of hesitation due to VNL. My first thought was to try it as a layering glitter, but literally the second I stepped into the sun this polish changed my mind. It is absolutely gorgeous. And it was super easy to remove! I will definitely be trying this one again soon. Perhaps I’ll try layering it over a nude or a white?

 

 

You can order any of the DelSol polishes online and I definitely suggest you check them out!

 

3 thoughts on “Del Sol – Color Changing Nail Polish!

Leave a Reply

