Tutorial Tuesday – Leopard Print

Hello all! I’ve been looking through all the comments from the giveaway, and almost everyone has said that they’d love to see tutorials on the blog!

I can’t guarantee great quality with this one as it’s my first, but I figured I’d get started and give it a try. Bear with me as I figure out what works best, and feel free to leave comments and suggestions!

Without further ado, a tutorial for my absolute favorite print.

 

Tools used:

A England Lady of the Lake, A England Princess Tears, black striper, 2-in-1 base coat and top coat

You can use any colors you want, just have a light, medium, and dark. I used these pretty purples because they’re my favorites 🙂

IMG_7137

 

 

This is what the striper brush looks like. I just had this handy in case I didn’t like the effect of the dotting tool (which is coming up next!)

IMG_7157

 

 

Brush set from MASH

IMG_7142

 

 

The two tools I used, a dotting tool (a really tiny one!) and a small rounded brush

IMG_7147

 

Step 1

Start with a top coat to protect your nails from staining and help the manicure last longer.

Step 2

Paint your nails with the lightest color as a base. Try to reach full opacity.

IMG_7135

 

Step 3

Using the small rounded brush (or even your polish’s brush if you’re careful), make random sized blobs with the medium color. Try to make some almost crescent shaped, but it’s okay if it looks a little messy and not uniform.

 

IMG_7172

 

Step 4

Using your dotting tool, create an incomplete circle of dots with your darkest color around the blobs. Alternatively, if you don’t have a dotting tool, you can try to use a striper or a toothpick. I fid the striper is the hardest to work with, but can still create the same look.

IMG_7193

 

 

Step 5

Wait for the colors to dry a bit before adding topcoat, as you don’t want to smear the darkest color.

Then add top coat to even out the texture and make the mani shine!

IMG_7205

 

 

And the result!

IMG_7196

 

 

I hope this was helpful! Feel free to leave questions about this tutorial or suggestions for future ones in the comments!

~ Charlotte

Leave a Reply

