Tutorial Tuesday – Putting Pictures on Nails

Last week I tried out putting Justin Bieber’s face on my sister’s nails. This time, I’ll show you how I did it! Putting a picture on your nail is actually very easy, much easier than I thought it would be. All you need is a picture (duh!), scissors, your polish of choice and a top coat.

Step 1

Gather your tools! I used Essie’s In the Cab-ana as my base color. It was a gift along with Smokin’ Hot, so expect to see real swatches of both colors soon 🙂 I also had my Essie All In One on hand.

I also grabbed an old Seventeen Magazine to find the picture I wanted on my nails. With the Justin Bieber nail art, we just printed out pictures using a color printer (more on that later), but magazine pictures work just as well!

IMG_8506

Step 2

Cut out your picture! This was the hardest part for me both times because the pictures have to be small enough to fit on your nail, requiring a lot of precision. Or maybe I’m just not so adept at handling scissors…

After you’ve cut out your picture, I would advise you roll it a little so that it is not flat. This will help it fit the curved shape of your nail more when you actually put it on.

IMG_8499

 

 

 

Step 3

Paint your nail with the base color.

IMG_8498

 

 

Step 4

Either add another coat of your base color, or a clear coat. Before that coat dries, place your picture on the wet polish. I prefer waiting for the base color to completely dry and using a clear coat for picture adhesive, because then it doesn’t matter as much if the picture sinks a little beneath the wet coat. Once your picture is on, press it lightly into the wet polish, making sure the edges are securely on the nail surface.

IMG_8500

 

 

Step 5

Add topcoat and voila! Not only will the top coat add some shine to your picture, but it will secure the picture in place when it dries.

IMG_8501

 

 

So, what do you think? Easy enough right?

Let me know if you try it out! I’d love to see what sort of creativity this technique inspires 🙂

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Also, don’t forget to enter our giveaway! There are only a few days left, and I know you wouldn’t want to miss out on these sparkly prizes.

3 thoughts on “Tutorial Tuesday – Putting Pictures on Nails

Leave a Reply

